Liga MX Matchday 6 Recap: Cruz Azul get a big win


All 18 Liga MX teams were in action on Matchday 6, after several weeks without all the clubs taking action. Here is our summary of this weekend's action:

Club Puebla 1-0 FC Juarez
After five rounds La Franja notched their first victory of the 2023 Apertura. Diego de Buen was the goalscorer after they decided to end Eduardo Arce's spell in charge/

Club Tijuana 1-1 Mazatlán FC
This match was something of a derby between two northern teams -- Luis Amarilla, for the Sinaloans, and Charly González, for the hosts, scored the goals on the night.

Atlas FC 0-0 Club Toluca
Both the Rojinegros and the Devils add six points during the tournament and occupy the 11th and 12th places in the championship.

Club América 1-1 Club León
It was an entertaining game at the Azteca as these two teams always put on a show. Federico Viñas scored against his former team, while Julián Quiñones scored the equalizer from the spot.

Club Santos Laguna 2-1 Chivas de Guadalajara
After getting all three points on their return to LIGA MX, El Rebaño Sagrado were on the road and they lost for the first time in the entire tournament. Juan Brunetta and Duvan Vergara scored for the Laguneros, while Roberto Alvarado pulled one back for Chivas


Club Necaxa 0-1 Club Queretaro
The hosts remain at the bottom of the table and are, so far, the only team that has not won in the Apertura, as Ángel Sepúlveda scored the game's only goal.

Pumas 2-1 Club Tigres
After a tough draw the last two times these sides met, the hosts showed their solidity and through Gabriel Fernández and Juan Ignacio Dinenno, they achieved a victory at home.

Monterrey CF 1-2 Cruz Azul
The games between these two teams are always quite outstanding and this time was no exception. Diber Cambindo and Moisés Vieira were the ones who scored for La Máquina in their first win of the season

Club Pachuca 0-2 Atletico San Luis
Los Tuzos have had a hard time getting started in this tournament and here they lost for the second time to Los Potosinos who got goals from Dieter Villalpando and Unai Bilbao.