Tigres look to be the first two-time Campeones Cup winners


Club Tigres want to roar loudly in Los Angeles! The Mexican side come to Campeones Cup with a possibility of being the first club to win the trophy twice, in a match which sees the champions of MLS and LIGA MX square off.

The Nuevo León team will play on September 27 at the BMO Stadium against the hosts, Los Angeles Football Club, and will try to repeat their title win in 2018, during the first edition of Campeones Cup.

Tigres began its journey towards this Campeones Cup after becoming champion of the 2023 Clausura in LIGA MX. Later they faced Club Pachuca, winner of the 2022 Clausura, in the Campeon de Campoenes, which sees the last two LIGA MX winners play a single match to decide the title.

With goals from Fernando Gorriarán and Nicolás Ibáñez, Los Incomparables beat Los Tuzos 2-1 and punched their ticket to play for the Campeones Cup trophy against LAFC, the reigning MLS champion.

Tigres are the only Mexican team that has been able to lift the Campeones Cup trophy, winning when the first edition was held in 2018. Since then, no LIGA MX team has won the competition.

In 2019, Club América lost 3-2 to Atlanta United. With a year off after the 2020 edition was suspended, Cruz Azul also failed to prevail against Columbus Crew and fell 2-0 to Columbus Crew. The last edition took place in 2022, between New York City Football Club and Atlas FC, with a 2-0 win for the team from the Big Apple.