NEW YORK CITY & MEXICO CITY (September 28, 2021) – The 25-player competition rosters for Wednesday’s Campeones Cup match between the reigning MLS and Liga MX Champions – Columbus Crew and Cruz Azul – on Wednesday, September 29 at Field (8 p.m. ET) in Columbus, OH were announced today. The Crew will be led by two previous Campeones Cup winners – Lucas Zelarayan (2018) and Darlington Nagbe (2019) – and will face a Cruz Azul squad featuring Captain Jesús Corona, who’s back after an injury, as well as Jonathan Rodríguez who was named MVP of LIGA MX for the 20-21 season.

Tickets for Campeones Cup are available via and here.

Fans are encouraged to visit to sign-up for the latest information and to be part of an exclusive presale opportunity.

Campeones Cup, together with Leagues Cup, is part of a larger partnership between the two most important soccer leagues in North America, MLS and LIGA MX, launched in 2018. The partnership is rooted not only in an on-field rivalry, designed to strengthen the sport in the region, but by a true spirit of collaboration off it, with a focus on sharing best practices and being a force for positive change in the local communities of both leagues.

Campeones Cup will wrap up five weeks of exciting MLS vs. LIGA MX matchups. This match comes on the heels of last week’s announcement of a reimagined Leagues Cup, which will be an official competition of the Concacaf Champions League (CCL), with the tournament champion earning automatic qualification for the CCL round of 16. In addition, clubs finishing second and third in Leagues Cup starting in 2023 will qualify for the Opening Round of the CCL. 

Campeones Cup is sponsored by BODYARMOR, GEICO, Procter & Gamble and Diageo and will be broadcast across the region on Univision, TUDN and ESPN2 in the U.S., TSN and TVA Sports in Canada, and Canal 5 in Mexico.


Columbus Crew:

Goalkeepers: Eloy Room, Eric Dick, Evan Bush

Defenders: Josh Williams, Jonathan Mensah, Waylon Francis, Marlon Hairston, Milton Valenzuela, Grant Lillard, Harrison Afful, Saad Abdul-Salaam, Aboubacar Keita, Steven Moreira

Midfielders: Darlington Nagbe, Pedro Santos, Lucas Zelarayan, Luis Diaz, Isaiah Parente, Liam Fraser, Alexandru Matan, Derrick Etienne Jr.

Forwards: Gyasi Zardes, Miguel Berry, Erik Hurtado, Bradley Wright-Phillips

Head coach: Caleb Porter

Cruz Azul:

Goalkeepers: Jesús Corona, Andrés Gudiño, Sebastián Jurado

Defenders: Josué Reyes, Julio Domínguez, Luis Romo, Joaquín Martínez, Adrián Aldrete, Pablo Aguilar, Juan Escobar

Midfielders: Luis Mendoza, Rómulo Otero, José Rivero, Yoshimar Yotún, Alexis Gutiérrez, Rafael Baca, Roberto Alvarado, Guillermo Fernández, Orbelín Pineda

Forwards: Bryan Angulo, Jonathan Rodríguez, Santiago Giménez, Walter Montoya, Lucas Passerini

Head coach: Juan Reynoso