Skip to content

Leagues Cup

The 2021 Leagues Cup came to an end with an epic match between Club León and Seattle Sounders, which finished 3-2 in favor of the Liga MX side, just reward for a fine tournament.

This was the second edition of the Leagues Cup — Cruz Azul defeated Tigres in the 2019 Final, while in 2020 the tournament was not held owing to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Here's a recap of what happened in the tournament:


Seattle Sounders 3-0 Tigres (August 10): In a game in which Seattle showed all of their defensive mettle, they kept one of the best teams in LIGA MX in recent years from scoring, while adding goals from Raúl Ruidíaz, Freddy Montero and Nicolás Lodeiro.

Sporting Kansas City 1-6 León (August 10): Ariel Holan’s Verdiblancos were in fine form with a double by Omar Fernández, while Santiago Colombatto, Ángel Mena, Jean Meneses and Víctor Dávila also scored.

New York City 1-1 Pumas (August 11): After a very entertaining game, the hosts took the lead in the second half with a goal from Valentín Castellanos, but Pumas equalized 10 minutes later with a goal by Rogério. In the penalty shootout, Julio González was the hero for Pumas, saving three penalties.

Orlando City 0-1 Santos (August 12): Juan Otero scored the only goal of the match with a shot from outside the area going past Mason Stajduhar as Orlando tried, but failed, to find an equalizer.


Seattle Sounders 1-0 Club Santos (September 14): In one of the closest matches of the tournament, a goal by Raúl Ruidíaz in the 93rd minute saw Seattle through to the Leagues Cup final.

León 2-0 Pumas (September 14): The sending off of Sebastián Saucedo with just six minutes on the clock changed the course of the match and just 10 minutes later Santiago Colombatto had the opener for León before Santiago Ormeño added a second goal on 68’ to seal a place in the final.


Leon vs. Seattle Sounders (September 22):

In an exciting final, the MLS side would score first, but León battled back to come from behind. Seattle fought for an equalizer until the last moment, but failed to level the score and León would be crowned champions.